Board of Governors

Gina Harris

Gina Harris

Mr A Long

Mr Adrian Long

Andy Gosling

Andy Gosling

Rev Mike Kneen

John Stone

John Stone

The Governing Body plays a very important part in the running and development of Earl Mortimer College and Sixth Form Centre. People choose to become Governors for a variety of reasons, for example, to put something back into society, to understand and be involved in the decision-making processes which affect the education of children, to play a part in enhancing the personal development of the young people within the community and to help to develop links between education and business.


The Governors of Earl Mortimer College bring a wide range of skills and expertise to the Governing Body. They work as a team to fulfil our common aim, which is:

  • Building Achievement and Excellence in our Community
  • Everyone is actively encouraged to:
  • Support the Principal in providing an effective learning experience for all students.
  • Promote the interests of the College throughout the community.
  • Attend regularly as many meetings as possible.
  • Become an active members of a Committee.
  • Form links with the College through adoption of a subject area.
  • Take responsibility with other Governors in carrying out statutory College duties.
  • Participating in Governor training.

Click here to view a copy of the Instrument of Governance.

Current members of the Earl Mortimer College Governing body:

Local Authority Governors

  • Councillor John Stone

Co-opted Governors

  • Mr Andy Gosling (Chair of Governors)
  • Mr David Evans (Vice Chair of Governors)
  • Mrs Gina Harris
  • Reverend Mike Kneen
  • Miss Lorna Simpson
  • Mr Matthew Burns
  • Vacancy x 2

Parent Governors

  • Mr Gregory Hutton
  • Mr Will Davies
  • Vacancy

Staff Governors

  • Mr Adrian Long (Principal)
  • Mr Stephen Murphy

Clerk to the Governors

  • Mrs Margaret Adams

To contact the Chairman of Governors, please do so either via the Clerk to the Governors or write to him care of the College address or e-mail chair@emc.hereford.sch.uk

Board of Governors Register of Interests.