At Earl Mortimer College all students follow a broad and balanced curriculum which aims to meet the needs of individuals and enables them to succeed to the best of their ability.

On entry, students are placed in mixed ability groups where they are assessed in numeracy and literacy. Those year 7 students who did not achieve the expected standard in reading or maths at the end of key stage 2 are more closely assessed and, in some cases, follow a curriculum with greater emphasis on catch-up in these key areas.

Students in year 7-9 study:

  • English & Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities (History, Geography, Religion, Ethics and Philosophy)
  • Modern Foreign Languages (French, German)
  • Art & Design
  • Food, Nutrition & Textiles
  • Design & Technology Resistant Materials
  • Computer Science & Computing
  • Sport

At the end of the autumn term of year 7 the most able students are identified and placed in a top set. This arrangement of a single top set and mixed ability sets continues through year 8 until year 9, where students are set according to their ability in English and Maths.

In year 10 and 11:

All students continue to study English, Maths, Science, REP, Sport and Skills for Life (inc. PSHE & Careers). In these subject students are set according to ability and potential outcomes.

In options subjects students follow one of two pathways, the Ebacc or Wider Achievement pathway, based upon prior performance. They are offered the opportunity to select from a wide range of subjects covering both the traditional academic and subjects from the creative, practical or sporting disciplines. Wider achievement pathway students have a more intensive, 1 year curriculum with fewer subjects that allows them a greater focus whilst the Ebacc students follow all subjects over a 2 year programme. By the end of key stage 4 all students will have had the opportunity to have studied a similar number of GCSE’s. All courses offered have routes identified into further education either in our own sixth form or through other local educational establishments.

Click here to view the 14-16 Curriculum Guide for Key Stage 4 pathways.